Many people argue that eating junk food has led to an unhealthy lifestyle. This problem has become more common among young people these days. Do you agree or disagree that junk food is the cause of the issue?

Consumption of unhealthy food is a common phenomenon among youngsters nowadays. While some people believe that the intake of this kind of food has made their lifestyle unhealthy, I think that it is certainly one of the factors; however, there are several other factors as well that make them unhealthy. The primary reason that makes processed food unhealthy is its harmful ingredients which can lead to many diseases. As packaged food contains high amounts / levels of sugar, unhealthy fats and processed substances, youngsters consuming them can suffer from many diseases such as obesity, heart disease or weak muscles. Take, for example, the case of Delhi university students. Many of them eat processed food on a regular basis as it is readily available in their canteen and this habit has made them obese / overweight. If they are provided home cooked food that contains essential nutrients such as vitamins or mineral, they will not face any kind of health issues. However, I think that the advent of technology has also affected the lifestyle of young people. This is because they are spending too much time on their mobile phones. With the introduction of many social media websites, many youngsters themselves to their rooms for several hours for chatting on these websites. This has led to a rise in their sitting time and less involvement in any physical activity outside. For instance, applications such as Facebook and WhatsApp have engaged children online with their friends excessively that these applications have become their favourite time pass. Hence, technology also plays a key role in making young people unhealthy. In conclusion, although junk food is one of the reasons that youngsters possess unhealthy habits, I think that social media is another reason for this development.