Many people are travelling to other countries. Why? Is it a positive or negative development?

International tourism has been continuously growing and become one of the leading economic sectors of many countries all over the world. This essay will discuss about the causes of this phenomenon, as well as its effects. There are two possible reasons why travelling abroad is gaining popularity. Firstly, the national economic development leads to the higher living standard of people in these countries. When people cover their basic needs and still have money at disposal, they tend to spend it on travelling. For example, in China, the exponential growth of the economy gives a rise to millions of new upper and middle class each year. These people have higher demand for travelling and consider travel as way of relaxation. As a result, the Chinese has become the extravagant spenders for global tourism. Secondly, the development of digital services makes distant booking via Internet possible. Therefore, people could read online reviews to choose the destinations, making reservations, arrange accommodation instantly. The convenience that the Internet brings contributes to the tremendous growth of abroad traveling. In my opinion, this development have both positive and negative effects. On the bright side, immersing in the foreign cultures enables tourists to have better cross-cultural understanding, breaking false assumption and stereotype of a country. For example: African…. Moreover, international tourism industry fuels the economy as it creates huge profits from foreign people while generates numerous jobs for the local people. On the dark side, global tourism can have adverse effect on the environment and the local culture of the host countries. The increasing number of flights worldwide gives a rise to the carbon dioxide emission to the air, accelerating climate change. In conclusion, I believe that there are two main reasons for the development of travelling abroad and that this trend could have both positive and negative effects.