Many people are moving from rural areas to big cities. Why has this happened?

Nowadays, there are a growing number of people who move from the countryside to urban areas. They move to cities for better job prospects as well as better quality of lives though I think this trend would enlarge the gap between rural areas and cities. a number of people move to urban areas for desirable work because of abundant labor demand in cities. In rural areas, numerous industries are usually not well-developed and they do not require many workers. Therefore, if local people do not move to cities, it will be hard for them to get a job, no longer a suitable job. For example, some rural areas only have few small companies and they do not need serious risk management. As a result, a professional risk manager can fail to be employed in these places. Also, cities have better infrastructures than countryside and people who stay in cities live more convenient lives. Cities have various kinds of facilities satisfying different needs of people. For instance, people living in a prosperous city can travel to nearly any part of the city by underground. In contrast, it will be much more challenging for a person who live in rural areas to achieve the same goal because some countries even have no public facilities. In my opinion, rural-to-urban shift enlarges the gap between rural areas and urban areas. Numerous people’s movement to cities causes the labor shortage of countryside while cities possess more labor supplies. With more people constructing cities, cities can develop rapidly and their GDP can also increase dramatically at the expense of the development of remote areas. In conclusion, many people move to cities in search of higher standard of lives and more promising employment prospects although the rural-to-urban shift widens the gap between rural areas and urban areas.