In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have positive or negative effects on society?

Nowadays, there are more and more old people throughout the world. In my opinion, the large number of them has caused some serious problems despite the fact that their experiences are beneficial. One problem is that the large proportion of senior citizens imposes huge economic burden on working people. The large proportion of the old means that the government has to levy more taxes to pay pensions while it is working people who pay taxes. Increasing proportion of senior people also means that the proportion of people who are able to work is decreasing, which leads to the consequence that less and less working people have to offer more their salaries to more and more people who has retired. Therefore, ordinary workers are required to work harder but their living standards may be the same levels as before and even become worse due to the huge economic pressure caused by large proportion of the old. Another problem is that the development of economy can be affected because of the high proportion of the senior people. In most cases, old people fail to work as efficiently as young people do. With the number of the old increasing, more of them are likely to delay their retirements in order to live better lives and the productivity of companies may decline because those companies still have many senior workers and can only hire limit number of young workers. As a consequence, the average productivity tends to fall down and the development of economy is likely to shrink. On the other hand, some senior people can improve productivity in some ways. Some of them have already worked for several decades and master some practical skills that can highly improve productivity. If they are willing to teach young people such skills, young people can work more efficiently and the productivity of companies can be higher. For example, some young managers fail to manage properly, but if they gain the help from those experienced managers, it will not take them a long time to learn the experiences. In contrast, without old people, young people would have to acquire those skills by themselves and the productivity can not be very satisfactory. Overall, the growing proportion of older people leads to many problems though their experiences are valuable.