In some countries, it is now possible for people to buy products made in other countries.

Purchasing products from overseas is now feasible for a growing number of people. In my opinion, this trend has many advantages although it may cause some pollution to our environment. Access to foreign products would force local companies to produce higher quality products due to a relatively more competitive environment. When there are no products from other countries, local citizens suffer from limited choices and they may not find products that satisfy their real needs. Further, they even have to buy some products of low quality because it is difficult for them to find substitutes. In contrast, if people there are permitted to purchase foreign products, they would have much more choices and they also do not have to buy low-quality products so that local producers would have to improve their products to survive in the market. Thus, the introduction of foreign products can promote the quality of local products. Another advantage is that foreign products can be supplementary to the local market. For example, North Korea does not develop its industries with balance, which contributes to the consequence that its people suffer from famine. And the goods like grains from China can alleviate the food shortage of North Korea. Thus, its market becomes more abundant with the aid of foreign products. On the other hand, introducing foreign products can cause severe environmental problems due to their transportation. Transporting these products from a country to another country requires planes, ships, and trucks. They would produce tons of pollutants that may enter the atmosphere, the sea, and the soil. And the air we breathe, the fish we eat, the vegetables we harvest would be polluted, which may affect our health. In conclusion, introducing products of other counties can enhance the living standard of people although it may cause some pollution to the environment.