Many people agree that free public transportation should be available in most major cities. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this idea.

It is to be admitted by most of the people that public transportation should not be charged any cost atleast in major cities. There are numerous benefits and drawbacks of this trend. On the positive side, this idea is quite easy and convenient for everyone residing in the urban areas. This is mainly because anyone can afford traveling in the cities, irrespective of their work or financial Status. Number of poor people can use these free public transports to commute to local areas to search for jobs or food, that could ease their travelling. Another benefit of free public vehicles could be, this will help in order to save environment. As free transportation will actually going to attract number of city dwellers to use public transport to travel to their workplaces, schools or colleges, which will eventually reduce the count of private vehicles on the road, leading to better air quality by controlling the pollution or emission of harmful gases. This will also help in controlling the traffic on the roads. For example,   a recent survey stated that in Delhi free public transportation results into 44% reduce in the usage of private cars, which is a great step towards saving the environment. On the negative side, free transport can actually charge a lot to the government, and to maintain the funds for public transportation the maintenance services could be dettered. This is because the authorities might do cost cutting in other factors of public vehicles such as poor maintenance of windows of buses or doors. For instance, a recent article published in 'Times Of India' shown that government funded transports are 56% low maintained than vehicles owned by private companies, due to lack of budget implementation. Apart from this, free transportation could lead to misuse of services offered by city authorities to the public. As more employed individuals will try to avail these services even if they can afford to pay ticket prices, this might result into no chance of getting buses or no seats to the poor people for sitting in a bus. Also, the local authorities could focus on just filling up the vehicles such as buses or trains, rather than providing good facility to the travellers by offering a comfortable seating to them. There could be a chance that due to overcrowding in buses, people travelling to their destinations have to stand in the bus through out their long distance journey. To conclude, most people agrees that government should provide free transportation to the public residing in the cities, which is advantageous for everyone and has few drawbacks associated with this trend.