People use the Internet for medical advice and to do medical checkups rather than directly meeting with doctors in an office. Why are they using the Internet for this? Discuss your viewpoints on this. In order to answer this question completely, and get a high score on Task Achievement, you have to combine the essay strategies of Problem/Solution and Opinion. If you see an IELTS Task 2 question like this, which presents an issue followed by two questions or two instructions, simply answer the first question/instruction in paragraph 2 and the second in paragraph 3. So, to tackle this essay, you will discuss the causes of people seeking medical advice

Thanks to technological advancement, manifold aspects of mankind’s life have hitherto become easy and user-friendly. Seeking medical help on the Internet has been gaining ground instead of seeing doctors in reality. There are various causes behind this trend; however, this step is a negative development, in my judgment, due to the inappropriate results and prescriptions provided by some fraud websites. First and foremost, the deciding cause involved in online health checkups is their convenience and flexibility, which means people are able to search for their health problems without geographical and time confinement. To exemplify, access to the western medical health system has been made possible for Asian patients who suffer from diseases without relocating and waiting on a seemingly endless queue at the doctors’ office thanks to the growth of online checkups. Consequently, this would probably put an end to the progression of the disease. Contrary to popular perception, this type of detecting accurate sicknesses that a patient has seems to be untrustworthy. The manifest drawback of health advice through the Internet is a result of misleading information which will lead to a plethora of severe repercussions and even fatality. There are several simple symptoms of lung cancer such as an ache or pain when coughing and breathing that virtually resemble a common cold. If self-medication is persistently advocated instead of immediate personal attention, the eventual outcome can be huge destruction in the patient’s health conditions. Therefore, only real-life doctors make a decisive contribution to diagnose and provide a suitable treatment technique for their patients. On balance, despite offering many benefits geographically and savings time, virtual medical checkups bring more drawbacks regarding incorrect diagnosis and death’s possibility. I am opposed to giving people incentives to have their health checked on the Internet.