Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

In many countries, criminality has gone beyond the alarming rate. The main reason for increase recidivism is lack of rehabilitation while in prison and difficulty in finding employment after being released. This essay will examine the reasons for this and propose some viable solutions. First and foremost reason which often leads to recommit the crime is simply locking up criminals in prison without resources to reform them. It has been observed that locking up all type of offenders in the same jail encourages them to commit more serious crimes. A survey conducted stated that minor criminal involves in major crimes as they share their ideas with other culprits which will strengthen their wrong intentions. Another reason is lack of equal job availability in society to former inmates is quite evident. To illustrate, majority of employers deny giving job or social support to a known convicts owing to lack of trust on them. This social outlook and discrimination leave them with no other option than rejoining the crime group for their survival. However, government should regulate stringent laws and providing them trainings on rehabilitating offenders so that they become good members of society. Furthermore, creating adequate job opportunities for offenders after receiving punishment appears to be the most effective method, since this assures reasonable income and social status.