Many of the diseases which afflict people who do office jobs are the direct result of a sedentary lifestyle.

Nowadays hard work dwindles as more people work in offices. Although we suffer less from the pains and tiredness of manual work, we are in fact afflicted by the sedentary lifestyle of office work, as many critics suggest. Personally, I agree with this idea. For people working in offices, sitting for too long in the soft chair or sofa is the direct cause of a number of diseases. As is often the case, workers in offices tend to deal with their work either by using the computer or by checking documents and writing reports. And all such work requires a person to sit in a chair by a desk for a long time. This will cause backaches, neck aches as few people have a good sitting habit and it is even harder for them to sit properly in a long time. Secondly, sitting for a long time means they cannot exercise their body or simply stretch out their arms and legs often, which results in bad blood circulation and even obesity. Worse still, they can suffer from psychological pressure for lack of exercises that are essential to personal happiness. However, some argue that sedentary lifestyle in offices is not the direct cause of a lot of diseases. They claim that although office work requires them to sit for long, they can relax and exercise their body after work and at weekends. The fallacy in this argument is that it thinks many people are so energetic that they are eager to exercise themselves after a long day of exhaustion due to their work, not to mention that at weekends people are not always free to do anything they want to do. In conclusion, it is reasonable to say that sedentary lifestyle of office work is the direct cause of a number of diseases. Work takes up most of our time, and if it does not make enough time and space for proper physical adjustments and relaxation, we will not be able to lead a healthy lifestyle. For employers, they should come up with some useful strategies to deal with the problem.