Many of the countries believe that international tourism has harmful effects. Why do they think so? What can be done to change their views?

Tourism is an essential part of any economy as it is an easy source of foreign exchange, even then many countries are convinced with the dreadful effects it has on them. The ways tourism harm countries can be attributed to different social and environmental factors, yet a lot could be done to change the bad perception that many people have about it. Many countries view tourism as harmful due to the effect it has on their environment. It includes the disturbance to the natural habitats in an effort to build more hotels and restaurants for tourists to boost earnings. Many species, on losing their homes either displace or die to the extent of extinction. Take Murree for example, which is a hill station in Pakistan, homed different species of monkeys but with increased number of people visiting that area, the population of monkeys have drastically dropped. Eventually, habitat destruction is the primary cause of animal extinction worldwide. Furthermore, tourism also effect a country's culture. Many young locals try to copy the foreigners in the way they dress up and behave, consequently losing their own identity. Many natives are forced to forgo their tradition jobs such as fishing and farming, in order to take part in the tourism industry for better living. Hence, the local culture and traditions are over shadowed by these effects of tourism which are long term. However, this situation can be improved by government making strict building control rules for tourist destinations. Tourist should be encouraged to live in camps and tents rather than luxurious hotels and enjoy the scenic beauty, so that the animals are not deprived of their homes to accommodate them. Foreigners should be educated about local culture and guided to promote it rather than bringing their own and influencing the natives. The more government intervention in the tourism industry the more positive influence it will cultivate. In conclusion, although there are many reason to believe that tourism affects a country negatively; however, if the industry is guided with proper restriction and rules, countries would be able to view it positively.