Student should choose a university major that prepares them for a high paying career

Universities often provide a wide selection of subjects and courses that a student can select. There is a belief that they should choose a major that can lead to a career with a high pay. Personally, I strongly disagree with this idea. It would be better if the students are learning about what they truly want instead of following the norm due to the pressure that comes from society. Firstly, being passionate about an area of study is more important than money. A university course will usually last around 3 to 4 years. The duration of study is quite long. If the students only pick a major that will pay well instead of what they are passionate about, it might lead them to become stressed in the long run. For instance, studying to become an architect, which is one of the high paying career, is quite diffucult and stressful especially when the student is not interested about the subject and only take it since it pays well. To become an architect, they will involve a lot of complex and intricate calculations. As a consequence, they will be stuck in a major that they are not passionate about and this could affect their mental health. In contrast, if they pick something that they are passionate about, despite the difficulties that might arise, they are less likely to become stressed as it is a subject that they enjoy. The happiness and mental health of a person should be their priority instead of a high salary. Secondly, a high-paying job usually has a long duration of study. To become a doctor, it will involve a lengthy process of at least 6 years of study. This should be something that is taken into account when selecting a major. In contrast, with the same amount of time, the student could study for 4 years to get a degree and then use the remaining 2 years work and join the job market immediately. This is definitely better since the they would have a 2 year industry experience compared to someone who just finished their study to become a physician. In conclusion, despite the promising salary, when deciding on what to study, students must also take into account about what they are passionate about and how long it will take to finish their study. There is no benefit of having a lot of money at the cost of mental health.