Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages? v. 144

Nowadays, it is common to see several museums that come with an entry cost and at the same time, there are others that welcome anyone for free of charge. Personally, I agree with the fact that museums should be tagged with a price as opposed to opening their doors for free for the following reasons. Firstly, by charging entry fees, museums will be more able to take care of their maintenance expenses. In other words, they will be able to run the museum more cost-effectively as they'll be able to pay their daily expenses such as labour salaries, rent costs and other expenses. One of the museums that is located right across my street for example, that used to operate without a price tag was almost at the verge of closing down as it couldn't keep up with its maintenance costs. After they decided to charge a small entry fee, they were clearly able to avoid the closure. That is why, I firmly believe that admission fees are of utmost necessity for places like the museums. Secondly, there is a sense of security when museums come at a cost. To be more specific, if such places are offered to explore for free, then the wrong people can enter and this could result in theft or burglary of valuable items. For example, when the same museum in my neighbourhood operated with no entry fees, some thieves entered the place and managed to get away with items that was worth over three hundred thousand dollars. In conclusion, I whole-heartedly believe that there are more good sides than bad when attractions like museums charge entry fees. They will be more able to manage their finances and pay for things like maintenance expenses and also, it will not encourage the wrong people to enter the museum.