Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists and not local people. Why this is the case? What can be done to attract more local people?

Historical places and museums are by far the most popular places among tourists rather than local residents. Although there might be some reasons why this is the case, I believe some actions could be taken to increase the engagement of citizens to heritage sites. On the on hand, there might be some valid reasons why natives show little interest in historical landmarks. One of them would be the lack of education at schools and universities in terms of historical programmes, as they are probably being replaced by modern subjects like IT and Mathematics. Another primary reason why museums and historical sights fail to attract the locals would be that people often find these places common to their cultural backgrounds. For example, even though many museums in London are visited by thousands of travelers from all over the world, its residents tend to not provide as deep intersets as tourists. Therefore, people usually try to avoid engaging in boring items, instead they likely to seek changes. Despite the above-mentioned reasons do make sense, I think by taking several actions it would be possible to encourage local residents attend historical attractions. Firstly, it might be reasonable if government do not neglects to organize excursions at schools to go to different gallaries and places of historical interest. This in turn would help young generation to recognize the importance of history. Secondly, in order to make heritage places more attractive, authority might rearrange and redecorate these places and include some changes. Undoubtedly, these changes may not be missed by people or at least increase the number of those who would have interest in history. In conclusion, while some reasons may have impact on lack of involvement of local residents in historical landmarks, unlike travelers from other regions, I think some steps can be included to improve that situation.