Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists and not local people. Why is this the case? What can be done to attract local people?

In the modern society where tourist has become one of the most popular lifestyles, individuals tend to visit museums and historical sites during their journeys. However, museums and places with historical value are less attractive to local residents. This essay will discuss the factors contributing to this trend before arriving at solutions. There are several driving forces behind the trend that local people visit museums and historical sites seldom. First and foremost, residents, more often than not, concisely understand their cities and feel less fresh when they have stayed in the cities for age. To put it another way, residents would like to travel to other cities for interacting with other cities’ people and immersing their lifestyles when they are on vacation. In addition, the revenues of museums and historical sites account for the most local tourism. Therefore, governments are pleased to invest money on advertising on these two places to attract travellers. With this premise, museums and historical site are more attractive to tourists rather than residents. With that said, some approaches can be adopted to promote locals’ attendance rate at buildings with historical values and museums. To begin with, the main solution is that governments should hold some activities, such as concerts and anniversaries, in these two areas to change the public’s perception of such places as sites for only monotonous activities. Moreover, the local media should public more articles and programs by introducing historical sites and museums with tremendous worth. In conclusion, historical areas and museums are less attractive to the local compared with tourists because residents are too familiar with their cities and cultures. In order to popularize these areas, governments should carry out more activities in these two areas and invest money on publicizing them on local media.