Many manufactured food and drink…

Obesity is a serious problem that several modern societies face nowadays. One of its main causes is the high level of sugar found in a variety of manufactured food and drink items. A relevant number of individuals claim that one possible solution would be to increase these products’ prices, so that customers would by them less. I tend to disagree with this view, as it does not tackle the main issue, which is the poor nutritional level of food. Firstly, making such products more expensive does not bring guaranties that their demand would decrease. One could argue that a higher taxation could fund health programs, but it seems to deal with the consequence rather than the cause. It is proved that sugary products are addictive, similar to alcohol and other drugs, so the aproach could also be similar. Likewise, a higher price would not alter the nutritional facts of the products, which would continue to be harmful. Work on the composition of food and drink could have a more positive impact on individuals’ health. Although companies insert artificial flavors to their products to attract more customers, a better advertising campaign could provide the same outcome. Such media strategy could not only affects selling figures, but also raise awareness regarding healthy nutrition. There are a variety of groups that work on a healthier way of life and consumerism, so allying with them and fostering healthy activities would have a more beneficial impact than only making the products cost more. To sum up, increasing sugary products’ prices does not seem to resolve the health problems that they cause. As an addictive substance, sugar would be better faced with more regulation over food composition and a marketing plan which enhances healthy habits, for instance.