Many major cities around the world have become too expensive for lower-income people to reside in. What problems can this cause and how could they be addressed?

The cost of living in metropolitan cities is very high due to which people with lesser earnings find difficult to sustain there. The major problem this issue can cause is that people who belong to the labour class would stop coming to these cities, and this issue can be resolved if a state government support them by providing free accommodation. The problem causes from the high cost of living is that the people who have low income are not finding it suitable to reside in urban cities, and, thus lack in labour force. A person who earns Rs 10, 000 per month cannot afford the rent in cities like Mumbai, where 1 BHK starts from minimum Rs 25, 000. For instance, in a recent survey done by the Times of India, it is found that basic necessities like rent, food, and commutation cost over Rs 15, 000 per month in Mumbai, which doesn't support a person whose salary is 20, 000 or below. This problem can be solved by the government support. A government should provide free accommodation and some allowances for the low-income people. These benefits from the state government or local authorities will help such people to have a sustainable life, which will ultimately benefit to a state's economy. For example, due to the lesser number of daily wagers, Delhi government, last year, has decided to give incentives to attract the majority of this class. In conclusion, the expensive living in major cities around the world makes difficult for the people with lower earnings to survive. Due to this, they prefer to move back to their native place or where their earnings support their needs, thus results in the decline of the major part of the working-class. As stated above, this problem can be resolved if a government aid them with free accommodation and other benefits.