Many jobs require ongoing training and research to stay competitive in a world with rapidly evolving information and technology. Some believe that it is the responsibility of businesses to pay for this training for their staff while others feel it is up to the individual.

Nowadays, in this competitive world where technology is changing constantly, it is important for employees to keep updating their knowledge by training and research in some fields. Some individuals argue that the companies should be responsible for the training fees while others are in favor of putting this pressure on the employees. Although both opinions have strong factors to support them, it is my deep conviction that the cost of training should be counted as individuals' responsibility. On the one hand, corporations can benefit from their highly-skilled workforce in my aspects regarding to productivity and quality of employees. These courses play a crucial role in stimulating the employees' efficiency, which then increases the companies' productivity. As the productivity is improved, the reputation of the businesses rises significantly. Another advantage of providing free training courses to the companies is that it helps attracts more candidates. Take Facebook as an example, their business have thousands of applications annually for not only their prestige but also their generous policies. Therefore, the idea of getting a free chance to improve our abilities seems to appeal to a significant number of candidates. The company then recruit some high-qualified ones and train them to make the most of their abilities. Since businesses take enourmous advantage of training and research, they should pay for the fees. Unlike the businessess, employees are the ones who benefit directly from training courses. When attending these courses, they have a chance to enhance their knowledge and acquire new skills which not only be helpful in their jobs but also brings them a number of opportunities. With these thoroughly trained skills, they can apply for another company who offers them a higher salary, or get a promotion plan to climb up the career ladder in the original corporation. More importantly, once the employees left, the old companies no longer benefit anything from their investment while these trained and experienced workforce have the knowledge. Therefore, it is the employees' responsibility to pay for the amount of knowledge and skills they have obtained. In conclusion, although both businesses and individuals take advantage of these courses, it is the individual who gets the more direct and long-lasting results. Therefore, I will be an advocator of the idea that the cost of training is up to the employees.