Many important historical figures have served in the United States with dignity and empathy for the country. Some people believe that Martin Luther King and John Kennedy are the most known leaders for what they did during the time that they were serving.

Many important historical figures have served in the United States with dignity and empathy for the country. Some people believe that Martin Luther King and John Kennedy are the most known leaders for what they did during the time that they were serving. While others argue that they are not the only ones who contributed widely in order to keep the States united. Personally, I think that another historical figure that had the same importance as Martin Luther King and John Kennedy was the 16th president of the United States, Abraham Lincoln. One of the reasons that Abraham Lincoln was so influential in the history of the United States is because he fought for the human rights of slaves and ended slavery. If Lincoln didn’t address the slavery problems, then the States might have faced many difficulties that would have challenged the freedom of the entire country. Even though he fought for the end of slavery and implemented law, it wasn’t welcomed by many people who lived in the South. Still with his determination for solving this situation, he was successful in ending slavery in America. Because of this, Abraham Lincoln remains one of the most the important historical figures. Another reason is that Abraham Lincoln continued to preserve the Union during the U. S. civil war between the North and the South. If the United States wouldn’t have considered the emancipation proclamation then the civil war wouldn’t have ended and it would have ultimately divided the country. Even though Lincoln supported the Union, which opposed slavery, he ended up assassinated from people that disagreed with his ideas. Because of his determination to keep united the north and the South, Lincoln is going to be remembered forever in the history of the country. In summary, Lincoln is a key figure in the American history. He will be remembered as a president who ended slavery, while preserving the Union between the south and the north.