Many important discoveries or creations are accidental: it is usually while seeking the answer to one question that we come across the answer to another.

Discoveries and inventions are pivotal and act as an impetus to move our lives forward. From the discovery of fire to the invention of nanotechnology, people have come so far in comprehending and nature with their inquisitive nature. However, not all these discoveries / creations were anticipated, even by the people who made them possible. Major and breakthrough inventions we savour today are a result of curious people stumbling upon an oddity in their experiments. In my opinion, though some seminal creations were definitely a result of accidents, the number of such works is fathomable. While unwittingly discovering something leads to some new complexities to be solved or even sometimes, new fields of study, it is not germane to most of the scientific discoveries which are usually deliberate. When a person comes across an anomaly, it is generally a human's nature to be whetted by something abnormal. For instance, when early man first discovered fire, he does not know the intricacies of it, yet, he was confounded that fire can be sparked by the mere abrasion of rocks. He further explored the uses of fire -- hunting animals and cooking meat. This discovery has been salutary and is considered revolutionary in stone age. To cite a modern example, the invention of radioactivity was a result of an accident by a scientist. He was experimenting on a uranium rock, and when the weather grew gloomy and it started raining, he decided to store the uranium rock in a closet and left it undisturbed for a few days. When he returned to it, he found fog in the vicinity of uranium rock -- the inception of the concept of radioactivity. He was curious and posited that the rays emitted from the rock caused the fog, leading to intense research on radioactivity by the Curie couple. Sometimes, weather can also be the cause of serendipity to cardinal discoveries in history! Another famous example is that of Coca Cola's. The founder of the company used to take coca leaves and cola nuts when he used was etiolated with head ache. His assistant, once conflated both the ingredients into a carbonated liquid and the result is history. Who would have guessed a person's headache could lead to a gigantic empire around the world? Newton would never have developed physics so much, had he not sat under an apple tree. History evinces such breakthroughs and people often idolize such discoveries and creations. However, one should not forget the fact that many rewarding theories in science are a result of toiling away of many scientists. Albert Einstein, with his sheer determination and acuity, reached the horizons of science where most people, even today, find it difficult to fathom. This is not predicated on luck, rather, the theory of relativity or the photoelectric effect are results of perceiving things in a different way and being consistently curious. We would never have savoured travelling through air, if not for the efforts put the the Wright brothers and their "definitive goal" to make travel faster and easier. This heralds that, though some influential works are a result of acciedents, the same cannot be generalized to many creations we perceive today. Holistically, only a measurable number of successful acciendental experiments can be observed in history. Most theories we see today are a result of a fixed goal and the work towards it, rather than coming across aberrations in experiments. Though these aberrations instigate our curiosity, it is not often that they lead to something new and ground breaking.