Many high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 percent female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women.

Women's contribution in building the civilisation is equally important to that of men and given the chances they can be equally adept to take responsibilities in higher management in a company. Gender equality is no longer a concept, but a proven way to accelerate the progress and therefore I strongly believe that a portion of higher positions in companies should be reserved for females. To begin with, half of the world population is women and their empowerment determines the overall progress of a nation and its economy. If these women are kept away from decision-making positions, true empowerment of women would become impossible. To cite an example, when half of the decision makers in a large company are females, they can bring diverse perspectives and innovation to the company. Some of the Asian countries including Bangladesh and India have incorporated reserved seats in parliaments for women, and these female leaders have done a great deal to encourage women to actively contribute to the country's politics and business sector. Furthermore, women in higher positions like in police force can better understand the crimes and injustice involving women and can propose better solutions to these issues. Similarly, almost every large company has a great portion of female consumers and having some female key employees would only ensure ways to attract more female customers and better serve them. To conclude, allocating a certain portion of higher positions for women is not a courtesy to the women. Rather it ensures balanced working environment, innovation, happy female customers and women empowerment which are key ingredients to a sustainable progress.