Some people opine that increasing office hour is a reason for many social and personal problems and that is why it should be reduced to 35 hours in a week. What are the advantages and disadvantages of reducing the working week to 35 hours?

Different social and personal problems due to over work are arguably most concerning dilemmas in the modern world, both for developing and industrialised countries. It is suggested to forbid more than 35-hours work week schedule, as it might help diminish the issue. This essay will give in-depth analysis on both advantages and disadvantages of the mentioned solution. It seems reasonable that a shorter working week can boost the demand for employment and provide a healthier working condition. As workers are expected to work five hours less per week, the companies have to consider additional recruitment to keep up with the former productivity, thus help in lowering the unemployment quota. Moreover, studies have highlighted the importance of granting employees a greater amount of time for resting. Not only will it lead to better performances, but also improve employee satisfaction, from which the organisations can benefit a lot. On the other hand, there are bound to be pitfalls once the suggestion gets passed. Economically speaking, cutting working hours can severely hurt companies’ competitiveness in the market, since they are no longer as effective. The situation may get even worse if all firms suffer from the same problem. Prices are then likely to be raised so that the expenses can be covered. Ironically, the employees, who are also the main customers, turn out again to be the victims of the solution suggested. To conclude, high unemployment rate in the world has been a serious concern and it needs a proper solution. Limiting the working week to 35 hours might sound promising but there are several potential issues, which must be thoroughly addressed.