Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

The demand for advertising has progressively increased in recent years. While some advertisements may attract people to buy unnecessary commodities, it is beneficial in terms of informing public of new products that can enhance their lifestyle. Personally, I strongly agree that advertisement is crucial to uplift the quality of individuals’ life. The purchasing habits of individuals are solely based on their personalities rather than any external factors they might attribute it to. The commercials produced these days give special emphasis on human psychology. For example, the HP printer ad, recently telecasted on Indian TV channels during a festival season became quite popular as it added an emotional aspect designed to invoke a response from the targeted audience. Still, how could adults be manipulated to buy needless things? Even if the advert draws people’s attention, the financial restriction could not be ignored. Therefore, adults have to be careful and accountable for their own decisions without accusing others. On the other hand, many people find advertisements beneficial as it shares important information about the new products launched in the market. Nowadays, innovative ideas are being researched to enhance the quality of daily goods and services. For example, a commercial advertising protein bars is vital for people on a special diet and with a wider knowledge of the products available, they can choose what is best for them. Hence, if ads are not communicated widely, common people would be ignorant of superior products. In conclusion, the main purpose of commercials is to promote sales, therefore they are bound to be alluring. Despite this, I believe that advertisements spread important messages to individuals and inform them of new products and services.