Many government think that economic progress is the most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are important for a country. kode

It is argued that many governments consider economic progress to be the overarching priority for a country while others suggest that other priorities should be taken into account. Personally, I cannot fully support the idea that economic progress trumps everything else. Although, the economy will always be the foundation of any state, of equal importance are the quality of life experienced by its citizens. One main benefit of prioritising economic growth above all else is that without a growing economy it is difficult to improve living standards and invest in public services. To illustrate, when an economy is performing well, we are likely to see more investment, a greater number of new businesses, and a rise in wages. A lot of this will be reinvested back into the economy through consumer spending, and taxation from both increased wages and spending can be used to invest in locals facilities like hospitals and schools. A good example of this would be Vietnam, which has enjoyed unprecedented developments in economic progress and lifestyles since it joined the WTO in 2007. Despite these arguments, it is easy to see that standard of living itself is hugely beneficial. Although a well-performing economy will make good headlines on the evening news, the benefits might not be felt by everybody. Economic inequality in countries like the UK is widening, besides reasonable levels of growth. The is made worse by authorities cuts to public services, with hospitals and schools at breaking point. This demonstrates that is not adequate to merely focus on having a strong economy, but it is also about what you do with it. In conclusion, I cannot completely stand with the idea that government should prioritise the economy over other areas. Economic stability is incredibly essential but the administration has a duty to ensure citizens can access high-quality public services and are paid reasonable goods. Unfortunately, the majority of western governments are failing to achieve this.