Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

Currently due to the huge dominance of information technology some educational institutes have started to share their courses in various ways on the Internet, providing people with a more convenient way to learn. From my point of view, I think this is a positive trend, since this approach to learning gives people a lot of opportunities as well as having flexible schedules. However, there are some drawbacks of online learning which will be held in this essay. Prior to the advent of Information technology, the form of study used to be limited and tedious. Consequently, many students had a limited access to information beyond their university studies. However, nowadays the Internet gives us an instant access to numerous resources, which can enhance our study performance. Moreover, the widespread use of the Internet makes it handy for people to enroll in a course without considering time and distance. This trend has attracted thousands of professionals, housewives and elderly people to continue their education or take courses of their choices from the comfort of their home. In addition, Internet-based courses are easy to follow and someone can retake the same lesson over and over again, unlike the traditional classes. Many skill-developing online courses, for example, have assisted thousands of young people to pursue their career in technology and this has all been possible with Internet-based learning. The key drawback of studying online courses is that students would have less interaction with professors and classmates. As a result, students would hardly have the opportunity to enhance their soft skills such as communication and team work skills that are vitally important to their future career. Furthermore, studying online means that learners would have less mentoring and peer support, which may lead to a lack of motivation and procrastination. To conclude, technological advancement in education, especially online education is a great leap towards the world without illiteracy and unemployment. Hence, this is such a positive development though it lacks a teacher's motivation and direct supervision.