Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

In todays contemprary times, the socitey is polarized into two distint groups regarding the notion that whether eating local food is more beneficial environmentally and economically. This essay will shed light on advatages and disadvantages of this notion before conculding on the same. To commence with the first conviction, there are myraid of aspects to be shared in its favour, eating local food will lead to consumption of fresh produce. It is a well known fact, that the nutritional value of fresh food is much superior to the packaged food that is shipped from far away places. Secondly, purchase of locally available food will aid the country's economic growth as the local farmers and domestic food maufacturing companies will benefit from the high demand of the local population. For instance, in a agrarian country like India can be totally self sufficient if all the food grown by its farmers is consumed by the large population and no import of food products is made into the country. Shifting to the second school of thought, if no food is exported to the far away countries, some countries will not be able to feed its population, as these countries are not traditionally into farming and manufacture of food products. This will also result in uneven demand and supply of food all over the globe. Moreover, many developning countries which do not have too many domestic food brands, may not be able to provide many food choices to its consumers. To illutrate, if import of food and food items is not allowed in India, it could be depreived of the imported food for example chocolates or wines that are not maufactured in the country. Having discussed the arguments and counter arguments, I would like to infer that the disadvantages of only consuming locally produced food is far enormous than its advantages. In today's globailzed environment, when all countries are interdependent for their food requirement, this would create an imbalance of demand and supply of food products in the world, resulting in wastage of food produce and even exploitation of consumers in some instances.