Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

People have different opnions on whether it has more advantages to purchase local food than the food transported from remote areas. I would argue that to consume food transported from far way has more advantages in spit of the additional enviromental and economical cost. On the one hand, although buying local food is usually much cheaper due to the lower transportation cost the limitation is obvious. Firstly, it is the limitation of choices of foods. One area is usually rich in only one or two categories of food due to its weather pattern. For example, Southern China is famous for its rice while North China has more wheat. Secondly, limiting in buying local food has negative impact on economy. If all the areas are buying only food from the local, there will be much less encomy activities between different regions. Strong encomy activities between different regions is one of most important factors to advance economy, which has been approved by many countries and regions in last couple of decades. On the other hand, there are more advantages to purchase foods from far away. Firstly to encourage purchase food transported from far away will greatly enrich the choices of the food market. Customers in one region can get chance to taste exotic food from different regions and enrich their life. Secondly, frequent enconomy communication between different regions will encourage the communication of all different aspects, not only on food but also technology and the talented. All of those communication will further advance the enconomy. Finally, the additional financial and enviroment cost due to long distance transportation has been reduced dramatically within last 10 years because the development of new techonolgy of transportation methods. For example, high-speed trains provide much faster food transportation and therefore reduce the cost of food preservation while advanced techniques on airplane reduced the air pollution. In a summary, I am in favor of encouraging buying exotic foods and argue that it has more advantages on people's life and the whole economy.