Children who start reading earlier in life, perform better later on in their school studies. How important are early reading skills in a child's academic performance? What other preschool factors influence a child's later academic achievements?

The importance of reading in not a new phenomenon. Reading scriptures dates back to centuries in many civilisations. The vital question is, when should one start reading? The answer is as early in life as possible. Nowadays, parents have started introducing reading to their children as soon as they are born. Surprisingly, this trend has tremendous benefits that the child can reap throughout his life. In many famous studies, done by researchers it is proved that advantages of reading early in childhood has not only helped students excel in academics, but also benefited them in their career and life. I my opinion, reading is an important skill that a child should introduce early in their life. Firstly, the greatest advantage of reading to young children is their exposure to various sounds. It is believed that infants have miraculous capacity to observe and learn with all their senses and one such sense, which develops with reading is 'listening'. This helps the child to differentiate between various sounds and store them in their memory. As they grow, and even before they start reading on their own they have a plethora of words at their disposal. Once they start attending school, it becomes easy for them to grasp any new subject. Also, writing down words and sentences becomes simple and fun activity. Reading early on also helps to develop the imagination power in children. As a baby, when a parent is reading, he tries to imagine the words. They learn the art of visualisation. This in turn, strengthens the creativity as the child grows. Due to exercising the creative side if the brain, done by reading repeatedly a child or an adult gets a knack for learning new languages, and all this proves to be beneficial for any academic path that the child chooses. To conclude, I strongly believe reading is not only beneficial for academic excellence but also enhances the overall personality of a child and helps to build a strong character in the society who can make a difference in the world with the power of reading.