Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

With the development of the times, many families send their elderly family members in nursing homes because it is considered to ease their work, even this trend has become commonplace, especially in developed countries. First of all, let’s look at the advantages, the employees at the nursing homes must be people who are experienced in their fields so they are always there and ready to help all the needs of the elderly. For instance, about food, the employee at the nursing home certainly have prepared healthy meals for the elderly so the family would not have to worry about the health of the food. Not only this, the mobility or facilities provided by the nursing home also have been adjusted according to their age, so the elderly will not find it difficult and the family at home also feels safe. However, nursing homes also have disadvantages, at the nursing home they are having some regulation which must be obeyed by the family, for example, visiting hours which have certain restrictions so that the family cannot visit them all the time and make elderly people feeling lonely. To make matters worse, it has been shown that those who are lonely are at greater risk of becoming depressed and having their immune system weakens. The conclusion is, despite the advantages of specially trained employee and well equipped facilities the nursing homes offer the elderly, the family should consider the disadvantages so that it can provide safe conditions for the elderly.