People today spend less and less time interacting with other people in their neighborhood and this has a negative impact on communities. What are the possible causes and solutions to this problem?

Today pepole prefer to spend most of their leisure time online, and hardly ever interact with their neighbors. Therefore, social hadits are changing, creating new unwritten rules of personal interaction. However, local authorities may take couple of organizational actions to break this situation. Currently, internet is expanding exponentially, moreover the spread of smarphones and mobile internet is increasing the influence of online activity on social norms. To exemplify, if twenty years ago a man may easily come to a stranger and tal about something, today it is considered as all but deviant behavior. Although people still need to interact with other people, they are used to communicate in social networks or via messengers. As a consequence of this phenomenon, individuals are embarassed to adress personaly to others who they do not know personaly. To adress this issue, mayors and city councils may undertake a number of actions to nudge people to talk to each other. For example, the local council of Amsterdam has decided to block roads in downtown and restrict the movement of private cars during weekends to organize fairs, children playgrounds, and other social attractions for residents. As a result, people spend their time on these activities with pleasure, acquaintant with their neighbors, and disscuss different topics. Additionally, statistics show that the number of personal interactions among dwellers have risen significantly. Using this experience, other cities also create their own public spaces with interesting activities to provide their population an alternative to online communication. In conclusion, although new technologies and internet thransform our lifestyle, there are ways to create a space for offline interactions with neighbors and friends by changing urban environment.