Many doctors recommend that older people exercise regularly, but most patients do not follow an exercise routine.

Although doctors advise elderly people to exercise, they do not act upon this. I believe this happens because they have limited access to gyms due to economic instability. They can be motivated by providing free areas for physical movements in community parks. Firstly, old people cannot afford fancy gyms. These places ask for hefty membership fees annually which is difficult to be paid by them. These people are financially weak as they are retired and do not earn. Additionally, even if they receive any amount as pension from the government, they spend this on their food and other necessities. For instance, in most countries, senior citizens receive less amount of money from the authorities in which it is challenging to become a member of prestigious workout places. Hence, they are unable to exercise on regular basis. Secondly, the government can take the initiative to motivate them by launching free exercise areas. Majorly, the issue is of financial stability, because they cannot afford it, they do not visit gyms. If they get places where they can work out, eventually they will do. At these places, they will visit frequently and instill a habit of working out. For example, in India, the government has installed some weight machines in the open parks so that elderly people start using these. Therefore, with these the elder people can be encouraged to stay healthy by working out. In conclusion, patients do not follow doctors’ suggestions, for exercising daily, because they are financially weak to afford gyms. I believe the best way to motivate them is free work out areas.