Many doctors are concerned about the high use of computer games by children and young people. What mental and physical problems may arise from excessive use of these games? How could these problems be reduced?

One of the problems concerning doctors nowadays is the increasing number of children and adolescents playing computer games, which contributes to adverse health effects, both physically and mentally. In order to solve this, some measures must be taken by families as well as societies. The habit of playing computer games excessively leads to severe consequences. Firstly, they cause young people to be addicted to gaming, thus, forsaking their social lives and spending all their leisure time in isolation. For example, gamers tend to stay in their rooms all the time instead of going out with their friends or families. This behaviour leads to mental health issues, such as, depression and social anxiety. Secondly, the heavy reliance on computer games promotes a sedentary lifestyle, this in itself causes children and adolescents to suffer from obesity and weight gain. To solve this problem, families and local communities must interfere. Children must be taught from a young age by their families that excessive gaming is not a useful pursuit, and should be taught and encouraged instead to find beneficial hobbies. For instance, socializing with peers who are well brought-up, volunteering, reading, or exercising. Moreover, local communities must also share the responsibility and provide fulfilling means of entertainment for the young generation. In other words, if communities provided more volunteering opportunities, exhibitions, sporting events, or festivals, children and young people would be encouraged to take part in those activities. In conclusion, children and young adults should be dissuaded from forsaking their social lives for the sake of playing computer games both by their families and society. Such behaviour is detrimental to their health and personal growth and can affect their development into balanced adults in the future, which will in turn have severe consequences on their careers and future lives.