Many developing countries are currently expanding their tourist industries. Is it a positive or negative development

Nowadays, with the continuous development of the economy and society, the quality of life is also improving, so the demand for tourism is increasing. Traveling can be an expensive hobby but it brings many benefits for the economy and finance of a country. Many developing countries are currently expanding their tourist industries. As for me, this opinion will have both positive and negative influences. Beginning with positive influences, traveling is a leisure activity. Through sightseeing, discovering, and playing at tourist attractions, people can reduce stress, relax after a tiring and stressful working time. Then, traveling helps people open their minds and improve their knowledge. Travelers can learn a new language to improve communication skills and learn a new culture. While traveling, people can make new friends and contact new cultures. By interacting with them, people come to know about their heritage. Next, the tourism industry is important to many economies. It brings a huge profit for the economy of many countries and helps resolve social problems. Tourism creates many job opportunities for workers in the fields of accommodation, transportation, and entertainment. Moreover, tourism promotes other economic sectors to develop together such as agriculture, industry, transportation, and finance. Finally, tourism helps many countries attract investment from multinational companies. For each country, there are not only domestic tourists but also international tourists. Through the development of tourism, many countries can advertise the tourism beauty of their country; thus, they can attract investment and work together to develop together. But, expanding the tourism industry in developing countries has many disadvantages. Excessive construction of roads and hotels destroys natural habitats and beautiful landscapes. Constructing a resort or hotel requires a large area of land. Land clearing for the construction of structures and roads can cause erosion and landslides. Some water tourism activities such as exploiting coral to make souvenirs, catching sea creatures to take pictures to destroy their natural habitats. For example, catching starfish to take pictures of some tourists in Rach Vem, Phu Quoc but not releasing them back into the sea, causing them to die. Traveling causes pollution and waste. Throwing garbage is a common problem in many tourist areas. This is the cause of the loss of landscapes, environmental pollution, and affecting public health. Moreover, it puts pressure on local resources such as food, water, and energy. The local tradition will fade away. The development of tourism promotes cultural exchanges between countries. Besides the opportunity to receive the cultural values of the world is the risk of the lack of selection leading to the loss of traditional cultural values of countries. Moreover, traditional jobs will disappear, the locals have to work in the tourism industry. Finally, the problems associated with crime, prostitution, and other anti-social behaviors such as using a stimulant, having trafficking, and gambling that affects local communities are increasing. The concentration of a large number of tourists at tourist attractions creates opportunities for criminals to carry out their acts. In conclusion, the tourism industry brings many benefits for developing countries, but, it also has many negative problems. Thus, developing countries need to have a specific and effective tourism industry development plan to promote the strengths and overcome the limitations.