Many developing countries are currently expanding their tourist industries. Why is this the case? Is it a positive development?

A vast majority of developing countries are expanding their tourism industry extensively primarily due to its positive impact on the economy. Despite the positive influence of this, I believe this has negative effects on a nation which will be discussed in this essay. Well-developed tourism revenue can flourish a nation's economy massively. It can open employment opportunities to the locals and flourish local businesses. Many developing countries in Asia are relying predominantly on tourism to expand their economy. For instance, Thailand, a developing nation that has become a very popular tourist destination, as a consequence its economy has improved immensely. Despite the positive advancement of this, an extensive tourism industry can have negative ramifications. It can contribute to pollution to a great extent mainly due to expanded transportation systems which has enhanced travelling throughout countries. However, this has contributed to air pollution intensively. Many largely populated cities are now polluted with the smog that locals have to wear protective masks. Another adverse effect of tourism is its negative influence on a local culture. For instance, in Sri lanka a lot of tourists wear inappropriate clothes to sacred places and behave in a certain way which may be offensive to certain cultures. Despite the wide range of advantages a well-expanded tourism industry can bring, it can also have some negative impact which governments should take consideration into.