Many developed countries allow their citizens to carry a gun in public places. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that common citizens have a right to keep a gun with themselves publicly in many first world countries. However, I believe that this has had more adverse effects than positive ones. On the one hand, Guns are often supported as a mechanism of self-defense, especially useful for women, who are considered fragile and more prone to victimization. Having a weapon at hand instills a sense of security, a psychological benefit of significance. Secondly, armed civilians means lower crime rate as criminals are deterred by the possible fatal consequences of their acts. This further benefits the police as their responsibility to deal with offenders is reduced to a large extent. Finally, it is also believed to improve employability scenario through the increase in job opportunities in arm factories and gun shops. HO On the other hand, I believe that drawbacks here are stronger as guns are highly likely to be misused. Number of violent crimes like homicides and suicides increase when guns are easily available, and that police are forced to use weapons to combat armed criminals. To cite an example of gun misuse, every other year, USA is hit by the incidences of gun violence at schools usually carried out psychologically ill criminals to massacre indiscriminately. Apart from this, freely allowing guns could skew children perception toward society. If children observe adults carrying guns, this tends to picture world as a dangerous place where violence and aggression are the solutions to every problem. In conclusion, thoug permission to civilians to have guns may have some positive outcomes, I feel developed nations are more at harm than benefits owing to this.