Many criminals re-offend after they have been punished. Why do some people continue to commit crimes after they have been punished, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

In this day and age, despite being released from prison, due to committing a crime, prisoners are sentenced to prison again. This essay will have a look at some serious problems associated with committing a crime after releasing suggest some preventative measures that could be taken to cope with this problem. One of the main causes of the issue is that people who commit a crime usually have no other way of making a living. That is to say, when many offenders have been punished and released, many employers do not want to engage criminals to their work, which can be negative effect to thieves. This is because, this issue forces criminals to commit petty crimes such as shoplifting, pickpocketing and even kidnapping because of unemployment. The solution is that the government is not to ignore offenders when they are released from prison. They should create jobs for them and offenders must have been employed after releasing, and consequently they may not commit these crimes. Another problem is that many offenders mix with other prisoners who can be a negative influence. Which means is that there might be some burglars who committed a petty crime like pickpocketing or speeding, and if they are sentenced to prison, they can meet with some criminals who commit some huge crimes such as robber, smuggler or even murder. It is because, they can make a relationship and commit a crime with them after releasing from prison. To tackle the problem, these types of crime can be deterred by undergoing community service or paying a fine. These types of ways of punishing can be less expensive and more productive measures. As a result, they may not commit a crime. To conclude, after having been punished the criminals commit a crime again, due to reasons such as unemployment and mixing with criminals. This is a serious problem, and unless we can get a solution to solve this problem, criminals may not to stop doing harsh crimes.