Many crimes are related to consumption of alcohol.

There is a connection between the increase of violent activities and the use of alcohol. It is some individuals’ popular opinion that the best method to decrease the rate of criminal activities is to prohibit the use of alcohol. In my opinion, this itself is not sufficient to reduce crimes in society and requires education as well as government intervention to succeed in this venture. Banning alcohol from a certain country can be considered as the first step towards reducing the crime rates, however, this alone will not be sufficient to control the matter. People will look into other options and avenues to gain access to alcohol. Illegal liquor and even drugs could be sought after by people as an alternative for alcohol. This creates an even higher risk for society, and would still lead to an increase in violence. Education is one of the most important measures that could be utilized to get this situation under control. Children and teenagers must be educated about the consequences of violent and illegal actions. Workshops and educational camps can instill the children with the required knowledge about how their actions have consequences and that they need to take up the responsibility to own their actions. This would teach individuals to act based on their morals starting from a very young age. Another solution is for the government to play its part by funding parties to act for the betterment of society. The government’s funding in organizations and correction centers should be increased to provide a more comprehensive service for the ones who are in need. These centers should be implemented with strict programs to facilitate and teach the wrongdoers and assist them to see right from wrong. Although they have committed a crime before, these centers will reform these individuals so that they will not participate in any such activity in the future. In conclusion, I believe that even though illegal activities can be reduced to an extent by removing the use of alcohol in society, it is not the most efficient approach to the issue. Education should inculcate morals in the minds of the children as well as the government should take steps to create an efficient program to reform the ex-convicts.