It is not a waste of money for governments to fund space travel or space exploration.

Nowadays, with the depletion of natural resources on earth, many governments expect to invest a huge amount of money into space exploration. However, some people claim that it is a waste of money since it always costs a billion dollars annually; other people maintain that it is worthy doing that. From my point of view, I am in favor of the latter point. To begin with, investing money into the space travel or space exploration could bring about valuable resources. On earth, many resources are not sustainable such as coal and fossil because they tend to take many years to form. With the rapid development of society, many industries drill several kilometers underground and mine them. Therefore, the speed of drilling exceeds that of formation, which gives rise to the depletion of natural resources. However, in the outer space, there is a wealth of invaluable iridium, ore and so on. By funding much money into space travel, government can exploit sustainable resources to replace that on earth. Even though in the initial process of space exploration, government may spend billion dollars on it, the cost would make up in the long run. Secondly, funding a huge amount of money can stir space' interest of teenagers. The reason is that once government is successful in space travel, many coverage news would report such success. When teenagers read such profound news, they will pay much attention to the field. As a result, the project of space travel can bring out the curiosity of science from students. My own experience is a compelling example. When I was in the middle school, my country funded a lot of money on space travel, Shenzhou No. 5. When the space travel successfully launched, many media reported such exciting achievement. Immersing in such environment, I became much interested in astronomy. In the high school, to pursue science, I not only have a daily routine to read scientific articles, but also participate many competitions in science. During the process, my interest in science is aroused. Now, working in the NASA is one of dreams because I desire to pursue higher achievement. In the nutshell, spending money on space travel is not a waste of money. The reason is that it can not only bring about sustainable growth of society but also stir teenagers' interest in science.