Many countries aim to improve their living standard by economic development, but some important social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

Many governments' effort to strengthen the quality of life of citizens through improving economic conditions of the country, associates with negative impact on social norms. This essay will argue that despite there being some loss of social values, the benifits of economic development and resultant better quality of life due to ability of spending money on social services, are far outweigh the minor drawbacks. Many countries promote tourism in order to earn foreign income and it leads to deterioration of social and cultural values. When governments try to attract more visitors from foreign countries, it can be impacted on traditional way of life. Traditional living patterns are often based on close-knit communities, shared resources and less competitive society. In this process of development; however, inhabitants of the countries have to adjust with different norms, which leads to competitive and money oriented society. For example, Sri Lanka was historically an agricultural country. However, with the introduction of free economic policy, many farmers moved to tourism sector in order to earn higher income. This phenomenon has brought many adverse social conditions. Therefore, I believe that with better planning countries can eradicate such negativities. Economic development may have significant benefits on societies that cannot be earned from preserving social norms. In other words, if a government is economically stable, it can provide it citizens a better education, modern health care facilities, better transport and many other services, which would have been otherwise impossible to achieve. For example, economically developed countries allocate more than 10 percent of their GDP on education, while poor countries allocate less than 5 percent. Consequently, in developed nations, people may have better education and in turn contribute to country’s progress, as well as they help preserving their social and cultural uniqueness. In conclusion, the benefits that a society receive from economic progress of the country far outweigh some disadvantages of social and cultural disturbances. Hence, it is recommended to working towards economic wellbeing while minimizing negative social impact.