Modern societies need specialists in certain fields, but not in others. Some people therefore think that governments should pay university fees for students who study subjects that are needed by society. Those who choose to study less relevant subjects should not receive government funding. Would the advantages of such an educational policy outweigh the disadvantages?

Specialized fields of education is more popular nowadays. Some believe that students who intend to enter into such fields of study should be funded by government and those who follow other subjects should be self-funded. In my opinion although, this may increase social disparity, the benefits to the individuals and society are far outweigh the minor drawbacks. Government funding for one educational sector make other sectors unpopular. Free education policies are obviously more attractive and many students make their effort to reap that benefits by choosing such subject areas to study. This surely discourages other fields of education irrespective of their importance to the society. For example, many governments encourage health education and make necessary funding to promote such sector, so that demand for higher education in Engineering, Law and Management decreases. As a result while health sector of the country become well equipped with human resources, other sectors will be deteriorated. Despite this issue, I believe that pay more attention on high demanded sectors are extreamly reasonable. Opportunity given for those who passionate in a particular field of study is utterly benefit for that sector. In other words, most of the time one who like to specialized in one subject, will not be able to persue his or her dreams because of higher university charges. For example, Times Education Report shows that many Australian students select to study their second choice when it comes to course selection at the university because their first choice of study, which is “Medicine” is unaffordable. Hence, such policies that motivate students to enter into high demanded career paths are advantageous to both the individual and the society. Therefore, I believe that educational funding for single area is more benefitial. In conclusion, although sponsoring for particular subjects may escalate gaps in the job market, chances given to poor but excellent students to educate in their passionate field are far more valuable. Hence, it is recommended to continue such policies while minimizing minor detrimental effects.