Many claim it is extremely possible to decode cultures and behaviours of people based on their sense of dressing.

Many claim it is extremely possible to decode cultures and behaviours of people based on their sense of dressing. Although, cultural can be represented in the type of clothing a person puts on but definitely not character. Thus, I totally disagree with the above notion. This essay will discuss how choice of clothings can not be used as a prerogative for judging the origin of people in terms of their culture and their behaviours. To begin, the main reason proponent to the above assertions hold on to such believe is because fashion is a major distinctive feature of culture, and most times defines behavioural patterns. For instance, Nigeria houses people of about 80 ethnic groups, and the primary way individuals from different culture can easily be recognised is by what they put on; which most times tells volume about their character due long standing historical records. However, nowadays, it is common to see people wearing outfits from different cultures which does not in any way depict their countries of origin but rather reflect their specs. Nigerians for example, are fond of putting on clothings from another cultures particularly those of western designers. Thus, sense of outfit does not speak about cultures but rather personal choices. With regards to characters; there is no correlation between how a person chooses to dress to how they behave. For the fact, that an individual decides to put on outfits that is not of their origin does not show how their behaviours are but rather character is something that is has been formed and imbibed over time. The environment such as nature of family principles, and external factors are what forms and determines person’s characters and undoubtedly not what they wear. In conclusion, though people may feel that what we put on is a pointer to our cultural identity and character, nonetheless, the above notion is obviously world apart. That means, what we put on should not be used to tell where we are from, and our behaviours.