Many children today are exposed to violent video games and TV programmes. How harmful is this? What can be done to fight this problem?

Kids are remarkably eager to spend their time either on videos and cartoons, or computer games that are containing a variety of violent scenes. Indeed, this will have an undeniable effect on their attitude and reactions. So, parents and counsellors should be aware of the disadvantages of being addicted to these activities and doing them constantly should be banned. First of all, it is noticeable that we recognize how spending leisure time unbelievably have been changed in recent decades. Children are really keen to spend hours in a room individually to play offline or online games or watch programs on television. However, when their parents were children, they tried to play in groups and mostly they did a lot of exercises in those games. This makes them suffer less from body damages when they become a middle aged person, such as heart attacks or muscle spasms. Therefore, the main problem will be more illnesses that they would experience in next decades. Moreover, due to the violent and offensive genres that mostly experience in those activities, the rising rate of violence is obviously considerable is societies, significantly in people between 15 and 25. So, not only this attitude will not end in declining the rate of crimes, arguments, or fight, but also we are going to face with more bloody fights and robberies. For instance, when they persuade to kill a character in games as a duty, they are more akin to do that in real life, compared to someone who has not tried this even in the virtual world. Based on mentioned facts, we should try to find an appropriate solution. Indeed, there is no possibility to omit these games or force children to prevent playing or watching those entertainments. However, we can convince them to do more sports, or read more books in the genre that are chosen by them. Practically, if children put most of their endeavour, as much as they can, on doing sports, they will have less time and energy to spend their life on detrimental activities. To conclude, by improving of technology and rising quality of video games and videos, there is doubt that the demand would increase significantly. So we should make a schedule for our children to limit their access to them and push them to do more real activities. Also, we should warn them about their health that will be on greater risks in near future.