Smoking is on the increase among young people. Discuss the problem and suggest what can be done about it.

Smoking was first introduced in Europe, by Christopher Columbus after his sudden success of finding America. In the past decades, it has seen an impressive rise, in use, from mostly younger people. But why do youngsters harm their health in order to smoke and what are the possible solutions to this? In this essay I will discuss the above. Firstly, smoking has become a way for teenagers to socialize and make friends. This derives, from the culture that is created around that act and the urge of most people have more friends or belong to somewhere. To illustrate, from my own experience as a youngster, I started smoking at the age of 14, because I wanted to have friends. Lastly, the temptation for someone to have a cigarette is ever increasing, with friends sometimes pushing you into this unhealthy habit. While the reasons for people to smoke are multiple, there are some possible solutions to this problem. First of all, the government should try and ban this habit by fining people if seen smoking. This in one way that may help decrease the amount of them following this and alleviate the problem. Another way is to try and educate younger people and explaining to them that having a cigarette will not make them happier or help them create long lasting relationships. For example, the Greek government implemented a one time a year class about the consequences of smoking and saw a decrease, of more than 20%, in underage smokers. Finally, smoking has numerous harmful effects on the human body, so, by indicating them to younger people there is a chance that they quit. In conclusion, this lifestyle has multiple negative outcomes for individuals and governments all around the globe should set aside their economic benefits and focus on and their population’s health.