Many children participate in social networks on the Internet instead of participating in community activities in their neighborhood. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this situation?

There has been a significant increase development in the number of children who take part in social activities on the Internet instead of going out to participate in community activities with their friends. The benefits and drawbacks of this development will be discussed in this essay. To begin with, there are many advantages to the fact that why many children prefer social networks to community activities. First, Tthanks to social networks, children can talk to friends without having face-to-face meetings. For instance, children use Zalo or Messenger at home to call and text messages to their friends who are far away. In addition, Uusing social networks can also help children to enrich their knowledge and make new friends. When children surf the Internet, they can see many articles which have essential information that is useful for their lives and many people with similar interests to be friends with. Besides, using social networks help children to improve their technology skills, so they can have more opportunities to get a good job in the future. On the other hand, there still have many downsides. Social media can affect children both physically and mentally if they use it for a long time. Children will become weaker because of lacking physical movement and too much exposure to electronic devices will cause their eyes to be tired. A survey on social networks consisting of Facebook and Twitter in the UK in 2014 showed that over two-thirds of users had have trouble sleeping due to anxiety and other negative emotions after accessing social networking sites. Moreover, Cchildren can become addicted and lazy, and may do not want to contact with the world outside if they overuse the social media. After examining the issue, it is evident that this phenomenon has both good points and bad points. But in my opinion, I think it is good for children if they spend more time in community activities than on in social networks.