Many children in rural places cannot have good schools and medical facilities. Some people suggest that new teacher and doctors should be sent to rural places for serval years. Others, however, believe everyone has the right to choose where to work. To what extent do you agree?

Rural areas, the world over, experience backwardness in education and health care. This prompts many to propose that fresh teachers and doctors should be deputed to remote areas for long periods of time, which is opposed by others on grounds of human rights to choose where they work. While there are valid arguments on both sides, this essay does not wholly agree with the latter view. At the outset, every human being has a few fundamental rights. The right to choose an occupation and the place of work are a few of the main human rights. Although, people working as teachers and doctors are expected to be empathetic, in a true democracy, they cannot be forced to work at a place against their will. However, governments spend a lot of money for education and training of citizens. In such a situation, governments have the right to direct citizens to discharge some duties for the welfare of the underprivileged. Further, rural communities have equal rights in a democracy and depriving them of adequate education and health care is a violation of their rights. Furthermore, if large numbers of people leave their villages for cities in search of better educational and health care facilities, it will upset the developments of the economy and worsen problems of unplanned urbanization, which is experienced by many developing countries in today's world. In short, a democratic government cannot evade its responsibility from providing welfare to its citizens. People in rural areas have as much claim to welfare activities as any other set of people. By giving adequate remuneration and other benefits for doctors and teachers, governments can encourage them to mitigate the sufferings of those living in villages.