Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

Social networking websites like Facebook, Twitter and Instagram have become an important part of our everyday life. However, it is argued that these sites have a devastating effect on the community and the individuals. I strongly agree with the thought that social websites have a profound negative effect. To begin with, social networking sites have started hurting relationships. In the present world, people spend a lot of time online. Hence, they do not have time to visit their friends or relatives. As a result, relationships have become shallow. For example, in the earlier days, individuals used to have get-togethers at least once a month, but nowadays most of the people do not even know many of their relatives. Consequently, there are no close helpful relationships in this era. Addiction is another drawback of social networks which leads to failure in almost every field. Most of the people waste hours in front of computers or mobile phones chatting and posting on Facebook and Twitter and thus they fail to pay attention to their work. For instance, students do not perform their best in the exams or fail because they spend more time online instead of studying. As a result, social networking sites hinder the progress of the individual and also of the society. In conclusion, although Facebook and such sites are beneficial to some extent, I strongly agree with the argument that they have more detrimental effect on both the local community and the people. It is hoped that users will realize this and learn to use such platforms more judiciously.