Many can’t speak or present well in public. Some people think that it is important to speak well in public, so the training should be from school.

Public speaking and oratory are valuable skills that one should have. A good orator can easily win an argument, get their message across and enjoy immense popularity among people. Unfortunately, many people lack this skill and therefore there is an argument that it should be taught at schools. I agree with this view. In this essay, I shall explain why good public speaking skills are important in life. Predominantly, the major argument in favour of public speaking is that it develops one’s personality. When a person successfully delivers a good speech, it enhances his sense of self-worthiness. A positive response from the audience can help him to develop confidence. More than that, it improves relationships. A marked improvement can be seen in his interpersonal skills which, in turn, will help him maintain healthy relation with friends, family and his colleagues at work. In addition, it acts as a stress buster for an individual and will help him overcome his stage fear or shyness. Notably, good public speaking skills are essential for success in personal and professional life. I agree with the argument that they should be taught in schools. The standard school curriculum now focuses more on reading and writing. Consequently, speaking does not get the importance it deserves. This should change. Schools can organize various programmes that give students an opportunity to express their ideas in front of an audience. For example, there could be elocution and story telling competitions. Many schools already offer them as non-curricular activities, but in my opinion they should be made a part of the curriculum. Putting in the nutshell, the art of public speaking is very important in today’s scenario. If children acquire this skill, they will stand a much better chance in the highly competitive job market.