Many believe the solution to the problem of traffic is road expansion.

With the rise in the current world population, road congestion has become a problem in many towns and cities today of which some believe that the solution to this problem is to build wider roads. While road expansion might be a temporary measure to curb traffic jam, in my opinion, I believe exploring other means of transportation and making fares more affordable are more viable solutions. One obvious way to reduce traffic congestion is for the government to construct other alternative means of transportation such as railways and waterways and make them accessible to commuters. Hence, if these are developed, people would have a variety of options to choose from rather than taking the roadways. To illustrate this, passengers that are time-constrained would prefer to take the train or a ferry if they have the options as this will not only get them to their destination on time but also reduce traffic congestion. In addition to the point highlighted above, if the fares for these other means of transport are affordable and cheap, more people would prefer to use them as against driving on the road. One obvious example is that if the government-subsidized train and ferry tickets, travellers would prefer to buy tickets to catch up with a train instead of driving on the road to get to their destination. Consequently, this would reduce the traffic gridlock that happens on a day-to-day basis. To conclude, even though there are situations where the government needs to dualized narrow roads to reduce traffic and make them more motorable, however, it would be a futile effort if other means of transportation are not developed. Hence, having access to trains and ferries and making the tickets affordable to the public would be more beneficial in the long run.