Many believe that reading books is a waste of time and children would be better served doing something more useful.

People have different views about whether pupils should spend time on reading or doing something else which benefit them more. While there are some beneficial activities for children, I do believe reading books is equally worthwhile. There are several reasons why I think reading books has its benefits. Firstly, reading books helps students acquire theoretical knowledge and it is the primary purpose for school. Although we are increasingly depending on electronic resources, books and papers are still the main channels that teachers impart knowledge to students. Secondly, reading books helps children shape their mental characters. Unlike other activities like sports and games, reading require calm and patient, which is also required when handling some difficult situation. Lastly, reading books is a good way to spend time for those children do not like socialize or outdoor activities. They may find the same minded people through books. On the other hand, there are some other events I believe children should actively participate. for example, sport is an essential element for children to build a well-shaped body. Besides, family time is also very instrumental because it gives children the sense of secure, which plays a crucial role on children’s mental health. At the same time, spending some time on voluntary work such as community services can show them the value of labor that cannot be achieved through books or classrooms. In conclusion, I believe reading books is as important as other activities like sports and games for children and it should be encouraged.