Many argue that media has caused people to be pessimistic. Why this happens? What can be done to make media better?

It is believed that social media lead people to be depressed and change their attitude toward real life. This essay will outline some common reasons for this issue as well as several possible solutions that could be taken to mitigate its negative effects. To begin with, thanks to the development of information technology, accessing social media such as Facebook or Twitter is easy and prompt. However, over-dependence on social medial causes some mental health problems, and this can be attributed to some reasons. Firstly, Social media contains a lot of negative and uncensored news. This not only makes people feel scared about real life but also behaves wrongly due to misinformation. Second, surfing social media platforms too much could create feelings of envy and dissatisfaction. This is because people tend to share just the highlights of their lives, rarely the low points that everyone experiences. However, there are several actions that could be taken to avoid the harmful impacts of social media. First, one of the feasible solutions is to reduce online time. It can be implemented by limiting the screening time and turning off the phone at certain times of the day. As a result, social media users will gradually reduce the dependence on these platforms and therefore avoid their negative effects. Second, it is important to be aware that no one’s life is ever as perfect as it seems on social media. So we need to focus on what we have, rather than what we lack, consequently, we can get rid of the feelings of inadequacy or disappointment about our lives when scrolling through friends’ status. In conclusion, overdependence on social media could cause users to be pessimistic, however, there are some possible measures that could be taken to alleviate the negative effects of these platforms.