Many are of the view that clothes and dresses reveal a lot of one’s character and culture.

Fashion, vogue, brands, trends and styles are the watchwords of this ultra-sophisticated age when one tends to think all that glitters is gold. More interestingly, greater is the number of people who are prone to form an opinion that fashionable people are knowledgeable, which, in my perception, is absolutely absurd. Further, quite a significant proportion of populace would love to pass judgement about one's character and integrity from the attire. Personally, I am inclined to the view that it is terribly atrocious to judge a person's culture and conduct from his or her choice of clothes. Notwithstanding the stance adopted by an overwhelming majority of people who believe appearance is all that matters, there are certainly some level-headed folks whose contention is diametrically opposite to that bizarre thought. They are of firm conviction that profound knowledge, exceptional calibre, undaunted spirit, supreme diligence and intelligence are the behavioral traits which help one come off with flying colours in life more than mere skin-deep beauty. The notion that wearing expensive, branded outfits or mimicking a celebrity's imported western costume can elevate one's status and image in the society is absolutely fallacious. Whilst perusing the pages of memoirs of eminent personalities, it can be understood that they barely had any sort of flamboyant style. For instance, Gandhiji, bare footed and devoid of costly clothes, and Barack Obama, the former US President, who wore the same jacket and same pair of shoes for eight years, have been charismatic leaders who could influence and inspire millions with their audacity, magnanimity, philanthropy and oratory. All in all, it is not the apparel which determines one's culture and character, but it is the experience and expertise that matter. To continue, the choice of dresses is entirely one's liberty. It is quite obvious that one chooses clothes as per one's attitude, aptitude, comfort, need, et cetera. Another criterion that is uppermost in the minds of people, while selecting clothes, is the influence of religion and region. To exemplify, the conventional practice of Muslim women's wearing of ‘abaya’ and veil, and of Indian ladies' sarees does not disclose anything other than their Islamic faith and Indian tradition respectively. Out of ignorance, even if people try to boost their image and individuality by just bringing glitter and sophistication in their mode of dressing, they are not going to be judged that way. In a nutshell, discretion in the selection of outfits is purely a personal affair, and the unwarranted intervention and harsh criticism of public under the pretext of morality and ethics have got to be dismissed with the contempt it deserves. In the synopsis of this thesis, I would reiterate the school of thought that it is totally fallacious to judge a person's character and culture from his or her attire. At this juncture, what is to be borne in mind is that appearance could be deceptive. Furthermore, there are a plethora of people like the former Indian President, Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam, the epitome of simplicity and humility, who firmly believed in the philosophy of low living and lofty thinking.